top of page
French Lawyer

Previous Awards

Previous awards, bursaries, and scholarships offered by the Australian Law Librarians' Association.

  • Lynn Pollack Memorial Scholarship

  • Pacific Assistance Award

  • Pacific Libraries Scholarship

Lynn Pollack Memorial Scholarship

Lynn Pollack was a strong role model for many law librarians. She was inspirational in her dedication to her profession. She encouraged and supported her colleagues, taking an interest in their careers.

As a tribute to Lynn's memory the Australian Law Librarians' Association (ALLA) has established a scholarship to assist new law librarians and library technicians in their professional development. The scholarship gives a new law librarian or technician the opportunity to attend the Australian Law Librarians' Conference.

Lynn Pollack Memorial Scholarship Recipients




Lynn Pollack Memorial Scholarship


Trung Quach

Library Cadet, University of Melbourne Law Library (VIC)


Laura Manchester

Research Librarian, Sparke Helmore NSW


Justin Booker 

Law Library, University of Western Australia


David Furler 

Law Institute of Victoria


Robyn Schofield

Craven law Library, University of Notre Dame


No scholarship was awarded


Alison Jones

Knowledge Manager – Meyer Vandenberg (ACT)


Kirsty McPhee

Library Technician, Deacons (WA)

Pacific Assistance Award

Pacific Assistance Award

In 2011 the former Pacific Scholarship became the Pacific Assistance Award.

This monetary award provided an opportunity for a Pacific Law Library staff member, such as a library manager, librarian or library assistant, to improve capacity within their library workplace and therefore benefit the library and the law and justice sector agency they work in.

For example, the award could be used to:

Purchase textbooks for the collection and/or subscription to legal databases;
Purchase essential equipment such as a printer, digital camera, scanner and/or hard drive;
Purchase bookshelves and/or furniture; or
Invest in professional development such as improving legal research skills or gaining a librarianship qualification.

Three Assistance Awards were granted each year:

  • One Assistance Award of $1500

  • One Assistance Award of $500

A one year subscription to the Australian Law Librarian journal

Previous Recipients

2012 University of the South Pacific

Pacific Libraries Scholarship

Pacific Libraries Scholarship

Established in 2001, the Pacific Libraries Scholarship was awarded annually to law librarians and law library staff from the Pacific Islands to enable these librarians to attend the ALLA Conference.

Pacific Libraries Scholarship Recipients 





Ms. Leutu Leuluaialii

Law Librarian, Attorney-General's Office, Samoa


Deepak Singh

Acting Assistant Librarian, Office of the Solicitor-General, Suva, Republic of the Fiji Islands


Raelytta Daoe

Supreme Court Library, Department of Judiciary, Republic of Nauru


Pauline Kalo

Supreme Court of Vanuatu


Susanna Macanawi

Institute of Judicial and Legal Education, Fiji Johannes Fege, National Court of Justice PNG


Mary Lesatele

Office of the Attorney-General, Samoa Yule Wambe, Supreme Court of PNG, Mt Hagen


Kesa Tuikoro

High Court of Fiji Wilma Marakan, Deputy Librarian, Department of Justice & Attorney General, PNG Jason Pombo, Supreme Court of PNG, Port Moresby


Verenaisi Bavadra

Librarian, Fiji Human Rights Commission


George Vete

Supreme Court of Tonga


Jenny Binihi

Library Assistant, University of the South Pacific, Vanuatu Shalen Kumar, Director of Public Prosecutions, Fiji (Cth DPP sponsorship) Mina Shandil, Library Assistant, Attorney-General' s Chambers, Fiji (ACT ALLG sponsorship) Miriam Bite, Acting Law Librarian, University of PNG (Thomson sponsorship)

bottom of page